top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElsie Abena Addo

In Transition

Updated: Nov 20, 2018


tran·si·tion/noun

the process or a period of changing from one state or condition to another.


How well do you cope with change? Whether that change comes in the form of a new city, having to forgo an unhealthy lifestyle or embarking on a brand new career path; truth is, change can be quite intimidating no matter your age or how prepared you felt you were for it. I have come to realize that change can only be embraced and then later, adjusted to. Just as many of us are forcibly enduring the change in climate, so am I enduring my transitioning from one period of life to the next. Close to everything in my life has changed, and frankly, I am a bit uncomfortable. Still trusting, but uncomfortable. My personality calls for me to stick to a routine, and once that is threatened, I'm left wanting. Simply wanting to get back to my regularly scheduled programming! Okur! Nevertheless, with all complaining aside, I must say I am extremely thankful to God for how far He has brought me. I am also super thankful for the life I now live, especially because I'm doing so rent-free!


You guessed right! After six years away in school, I am finally (yet temporarily) back home with my parents. This means, being responsible for completing household chores and living by their rules of course. I can no longer freely drive to Cookout at two in the morning like I used to just a few months ago because new house, new rules! Another huge change came in the form of a new job, in a totally new field. With medical school still in mind, I chose to seek employment outside of healthcare for a change. Weird, I know! I rarely ever voluntarily choose the "unfamiliar" route, but with every job or internship I have ever had since high school being healthcare related, I felt what better time than now to try my hands at something new. This was a good change however, as it has led me to reflect heavily on my character, tolerance level and people skills. Truth is, my flaws are so exposed here and again, I am uncomfortable, but in a good way. I can also say I am fully "adulting" because I am not in school at the moment. I surely don't miss having to meet deadlines, pulling all-nighters or dealing with stressful exam periods, as I am actively choosing to enjoy my short break from the academic world. Lastly, as I also mature in age, the question surrounding my relationship status seems to be at the tip of everyone's tongue. My aunties and uncles seek to advice me at every chance they get (which I am here for), but I am definitely not pressured. Chile, let me put straight my relationship with Jesus first, because that is a direct reflection of how I will treat my someday husband. In my transition period, I am slowly coming to terms with the deep rooted issues that need to be dealt with before I can thrive in any romantic relationship. I am the problem y'all, but I'll end it here!


To sum it all up, I'll leave you and I with Romans 8:28, "and we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose." At this very moment, you may also be going through your own unstable, very rocky and anxious transition period, but hear this from me, "it will all work out". God is with you and for you; He hasn't brought you this far to shame or disappoint you. Also, it's so easy to complain or become jealous of other's portions during this period, but be rest assured that God has not forgotten about you. Your season of glory is soon approaching, how do you want God to find you waiting?


Love,


Elsie Abena Addo

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page